#banyantrees

I have been getting through Multipliers by Liz Wiseman in small bites, and I was flipping back through my kindle highlights and I came across a piece that strikes me as more profound now that I am serving as principal. Wiseman says nothing grows under a banyan tree. It provides shade and is comfortable, but it allows no sun in for growth. Interesting, right? Principals cannot be banyan trees, nor can teachers. If we don’t allow those who we work with to grow our schools and our classrooms become stagnant. The sun can sometimes be harsh, but our buildings should foster risks and provide safe places for everyone to flourish. What does this look like in our classrooms? One of my formers coaches said it best when he told his cross country athletes that it their pace should feel comfortably uncomfortable.

One thought on “#banyantrees

Leave a Reply

