You won’t find this on a standardized test

When I talk to folks about my blog I will often say that I have the opportunity to learn why Condit is a great place everyday, today was no different.  After finishing a meeting I walked in to the hall and saw some of our English Language Learners working together with flash cards.  The cards had vocabulary and sentences that three students were working with.  I asked what they were doing and in response one of them told me ‘she only speaks Spanish and we are trying to help her’.  How awesome is that?  When we talk about all the things students learn at school, how much do we talk about empathy?  I can guarantee you that a character quality like this won’t appear on STAAR or Stanford, but I can also assure it is a skill students needs to relate to others and go far in this world.

One thought on “You won’t find this on a standardized test

Leave a Reply

